So I’ve said a number of times before that I came to know The WoW after the release of Burning Crusade, so I haven’t known the giddy period just before a new expansion hits. And it is very exciting! Currently both mains, Anj and Wintersong, are gearing up for the “How Long Can You Last Through Levels 70 to 80 With This Gear?” speculative game, but other than that I’m just plain stupid happy for the patch and the trips to the hairdressers.

But, having said that, a whole new world should really mean A Whole NEW World and, to be honest, Talnivarr is getting a little long in the tooth. To be perfectly frank, I’m sick and tired of being on a PvP realm. Why? Because…

PvP realms take so much more skill.

So you’ve decided to solo a group quest, it’s not a problem, you’ve done it many times before. But oh noes! Along comes a Horde who will two-shot you when you’re at 50% HP with two elite mobs on you! Because…

PvP realms take so much more skill.

There’s some nice things you can get with the Shattered Sun Offensive reputation, isn’t there? Mmm, yeah, tasty items. You’d just better make sure you go to Quel’Danas at 4am in order to do the quests in relative peace because, throughout the rest of the day, gangs of five Horde in full, top-level PvP gear are roaming around to kill you without a seconds notice. Seriously, every time I go there I see the same names. And the reason for this? …

PvP realms take so much more skill.

Woo! We’re off to raid! Yay! We start at 9pm so everyone make sure you’re online at least 15mins beforehand to get in the group. Of course, we get there at nine, but we won’t actually start until 9.45 because of the insane Horde vs. Alliance Around The Meeting Stone battle. Same applies to regular instances too. Look at me, I have honour points, yay! Sadly, I’m a little closer to bedtime so we can all kiss goodbye to a couple of badges. And why? …

PvP realms take so much more skill.

You went AFK? Oh noes! Sucks to be you! Why? …

Yeah, pretty much etc.

So I have a job now to eat into my time, given that a jobless life has managed to pay 15,000g for three epic flying mounts (amongst many other wonderful things), at least now I’ll have the available money to transfer servers. And stop your moaning with “QQ” involved, PvP realms are largely filled with cowards who will only attack another faction when the odds are stacked HUGELY in their favour, the skill is a lie! You just need extra patience.

The “extra l2p powah” tactic of the PvP realm, meanwhile, is to get the hell out of the area as fast as possible after the laughably easy kill, far away from the possibility of retaliation. Wow. I am but a nub amongst these gaming gods and I bow my head in silent reverence.

The text above is related to the fact that I’m Alliance 4 Life but I don’t doubt that Horde experience the same problems as well. The 4am moments on Quel’Danas are where you can meet a bunch of lower-geared Horde players who just want a bit of peace and quiet too.

Bloodhoof is the one I have my eye on, mainly because setting up temporary “name reserve” characters still allows me to use “Anj”. Wintersong would become Winterstar, Caitlin to Chomski (probably one of the most unoriginal Gnome names in the game but, meh), Alysha to Alisha and Girlpants to Grrlpants. The data stored at WarcraftRealms.com for progression and battleground wins don’t look too bad either.

Finally, and this is probably pure naivety, but there just has to be a better mature:cockhat player ratio on a server that isn’t mainly based on PvP. Maybe even (gusp!) altruism! We’ll see about that one…

Give me my bill. I’m checking out. Boo ya. /me makes a rasping sound that lasts for a full half hour.

(this has been a small rantmoment on behalf of the slightly-tipsy party, lightly sub-edited by the dept. of the next day).
